Excellence in Corporate Health Achievement Award

Recognizing Excellence in Health and Safety

ACOEM established the Corporate Health Achievement Award (CHAA) in 1996 to recognize organizations in North America that have demonstrated outstanding achievement in leadership and management in assuring employee health, safety and a healthy environment. The Award evaluated organizations in four key categories: Leadership & Management, Healthy Employees, Healthy Environment, and Healthy Organization.

In 2019, ACOEM updated and redesigned the Award, changing the name to Excellence in Corporate Health Achievement Award (eCHAA). The original four categories were consolidated to parallel the three dimensions utilized by the Dow Jones Sustainability Index (DJSI) – Economic, Environmental and Social – with elements from each of the four original CHAA categories placed in an appropriate DJSI dimension.

The Award is intended to bring national and international attention to the importance of worker health, safety, and environmental management, and to provide model organizations with visibility and validation of their efforts.

Measurable Results and Continuous Improvement

The Award reinforces the importance of measurable results and continuous improvement and provides a forum in which participating organizations can exchange ideas and best practices on creating healthy and productive working environments.

Participating organizations submit a comprehensive application about their program and undergo a rigorous review by Examiners.


Organizations can be recognized at the following levels:

  • Gold
  • Silver
  • Bronze
View Past Recipients