OEMME Awards

ACOEM’s Occupational and Environmental Medicine Media Excellence Awards

The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is soliciting nominations for the 2025 Occupational and Environmental Medicine Media Excellence Awards (OEMMEs), a series of awards to recognize and honor efforts by journalists who promote understanding of occupational and environmental medicine and/or increase public awareness of workplace health, prevention, and/or wellbeing.

2025 OEMME Award Nomination Form

Nominee Criteria

Entrants are to be full-time journalists or freelance writers/editors/producers in print, broadcast, or online journalism. Entries should have been written/prepared for a consumer audience.  

2024 Award Media Entry Time Frame

Published or broadcast on or between December 1, 2023, and November 30, 2024

Award Categories
  • Broadcast Journalism (TV / Internet Livestream)
  • Written Journalism (Newspaper / Online Journalism)
  • Multimedia Journalism (Digital Storytelling / Other) (up to two awards)
  • Student Journalism (one award)
    • Full time students in secondary / college / university education working toward a diploma or degree
  • OEM / Trade-Specific Media (up to three awards)

Entrants should nominate a specific article / story / report which promotes the understanding of occupational and environmental health and safety and/or is aimed to increase public awareness of workplace health, prevention, and/or wellbeing. Entries will be evaluated on accuracy, originality, creativity, fairness, balance, and objectivity. 
Note: ACOEM is not seeking endorsement from news/media agencies or outlets, and ACOEM endorsement of a news/media agency or outlet is not implied. The OEMME Awards are intended to increase the visibility of occupational and environmental medicine by honoring journalists who promote worker health / safety / wellness / well-being and / or contribute to enhancing the visibility of the specialty.

Award Notification and Presentation

The OEMME Awards are presented at the American Occupational Health Conference each year. OEMME Award winners are invited to accept their award in person at AOHC and provide a brief acceptance speech. Complimentary AOHC registration will be provided.  

Questions? Contact Erin Ransford, ACOEM's Director of Operations and Governance, at erin@acoem.org.